Iirnls Notebook:/I Unser Vs. Unser Vs. Rutherford

Al Unser, Al Unser Jr. and Johnny Rutherford, who have nine Indianapolis 500 wins among them, will race against each other in a 10-lap Champions Grudge race on the quarter-mile track at Atlanta Motor Speedway just after Friday's MBNA Pole qualifying session, which runs from 7 to 8 p.m.

The three drivers will race in identical Legends roadsters, which resemble the front-engine roadsters that raced at Indianapolis in the 1950s and 1960s.

The last time these three drivers competed at Atlanta was in 1983, during Al Unser Jr.'s rookie year. In that race, Al Unser finished second, Unser Jr. finished sixth and Rutherford ended up 18th because of engine problems.

Unser Named Grand Marshal: Four-time Indianapolis 500 winner and Indy Racing legend Al Unser has been named grand marshal of the July 15 Midas 500 Classic.

Unser retired in 1994 after winning 39 Indy-style events and three national championships. Only A.J. Foyt and Rick Mears have matched his four wins at Indianapolis.

As grand marshal, Indy Racing League consultant and driving coach Unser will also watch his son's return to Atlanta Motor Speedway. Al Unser Jr. hasn't raced at Atlanta since his rookie season in 1983, when he finished sixth.

Cheever Hits the Streets: Indy Racing Northern Light Series points leader Eddie Cheever Jr., takes his car through the streets of Atlanta on Tuesday, just three days before the Midas 500 Classic at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

1998 Indianapolis 500 winner Cheever will drive his No. 51 Dallara-Infiniti on Peachtree Street, one of the busiest streets in downtown Atlanta, on a route that begins at 10 a.m. at Woodruff Park and ends at Lennox Mall.

The drive will be broadcast live by WGST NewsRadio. At the end of the drive, Cheever will sign autographs at Lennox Mall.

Race Center

Auto Club 500

@ Auto Club Speedway
Saturday, October 19, 2013
TV Start:

Recent Photos

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites