Champions Day Honors Open-Wheel Drivers

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Indianapolis Motor Speedway and the Indy Racing Northern Light Series will host more than a dozen 1999 short-track open-wheel series champions on May 17 during Champions Day.

Drivers will take laps around the 2.5-mile oval with Johnny Rutherford, a three-time Indianapolis 500 winner and Northern Light Series driver coach. The champions also will attend seminars on how to advance their careers and will visit Northern Light Series drivers and team owners in the garage area and on pit lane.

Also on Champions Day, the Speedway also will salute one of its great all-time champions, four-time Indianapolis 500 winner Rick Mears.

Mears will speak at the driver seminars, along with Northern Light Series driver Davey Hamilton and team owner Larry Cahill, who owns car driven by former short-track standout Donnie Beechler.

"Our focus is to assist the drivers in their goal to reach the next level in open-wheel racing," said Andy Hall, director of events for the Northern Light Series.

Drivers scheduled to participate
  • Bill Tempero, American IndyCar Series
  • Mike Wilson, American Motor Racing Association international champion
  • John Burdette, AMRA Road Warrior Tour
  • Bryan Kobylarz, American Racing Driver’s Club
  • Daniel Boorse, Badger Midget Auto Racing
  • Donny Goeden, IRA Outlaw Sprints
  • Dale Hammaker, Keystone Auto Racing on Speedways
  • Don Lehmann, Midwest Auto Racing Association
  • Kevin Newton, NAMARS
  • Terry Goff, United Midget Racing Association
  • Steve Thinnes, United Midget Auto Racing Association
  • Ron Smoker, 16th Street Speedway series champion, United States Auto Club
  • Michael Lang, Indianapolis Speedrome series champion, USAC
  • Troy Regier, Supermodified Racing League
  • Marc DeBeaumont, Western Midget Series champion, USAC
  • Josh Wise, Western TQ Midget Series champion, USAC
  • French Grimes, Virginia Sprint Series
  • Eric Edwards, American Mini Sprint Association
  • Race Center

    Auto Club 500

    @ Auto Club Speedway
    Saturday, October 19, 2013
    TV Start:

    Recent Photos

    © 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

    FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

    ISC Track Sites