Pruett Rojas First Team All Americans

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - Scott Pruett was named to the All-America Auto Racing Team for the 12th time Tuesday, joining Memo Rojas on the first team in the Road Racing category selected by the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association.

Pruett, named to the first team for the 10th time, is now tied with drag racing legend Don Garlits for third-most time on the first team, trailing only Steve Kinser and John Force. Rojas earned All-American honors for the first time after sharing the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 Daytona Prototype championship with Pruett, co-driving the No. 01 TELMEX Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates Lexus Riley. In the Road Racing category of the AARWBA team, drivers racing as teammates in the same car are voted on as a single entity.

Pruett is believed to be among the drivers in contention for the Jerry Titus Award as Driver of the Year. Other candidates for that honor include Tony Schumacher, Jimmie Johnson, Donny Schatz and Scott Dixon.

Raphael Matos, a two-time winner in 2008 Rolex Series competition, garnered first team honors in the At Large category. In addition to winning the IRL Indy Lights championship, Matos captured GT honors in the season-opening Rolex 24 At Daytona for SpeedSource, and helped Michael Shank Racing win the season-ending race at Miller Motorsports Park.

Dixon, Johnson, Scott Sharp, Helio Castroneves, Jorg Bergmeister and Wolf Henzler were among the Rolex 24 At Daytona participants named to the first team.

Jon Fogarty and Alex Gurney, who finished second in the Daytona Prototype championship, were named to the second team. Also making second team honors included Ryan Briscoe, Timo Bernhard and Romain Dumas, who have tested with Penske Racing in preparation for a possible run in the 2009 Rolex 24.

Jan Magnussen, a three-time competitor for Banner Racing in the GT division, and Rolex 24 competitor Dan Wheldon both gained honorable mention to the All-America team.

Related Topics:

Grand Am, 2008

Race Center

GRAND-AM Championship Weekend at Lime Rock Park

@ Lime Rock Park
Saturday, September 28, 2013 1:15 PM
Radio Start:
MRN, 1:15 p.m. (ET)

Recent Photos

© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites