Lofton Takes Daytona Pole

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - Justin Lofton ran a lap of 49.418 (182.120 mph) to capture the pole position for Saturday’s ARCA RE/MAX Series Lucas Oil/Slick Mist 200 at Daytona International Speedway.

Lofton, driving the No. 6 Lofton Cattle Toyota, will be joined on the front row for the 2009 season opener by Daytona Beach native Alli Owens, who ran a lap of 49.584 (181.510 mph) in the No. 19 Toyota.

Joey Logano qualified third fastest at 49.635 (181.324 mph) in the No. 25 Home Depot Chevrolet. The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series rookie will see double duty on Saturday, also running in the Budweiser Shootout which follows the ARCA event.

Defending race winner Michael Annett will join Logano on the second row after running a lap of 181.291 mph in the No. 01 Visit Japan Campaign Toyota.

Brian Scott qualified fifth in the No. 8 Albertson’s Toyota, with five-time Daytona ARCA 200 winner Bobby Gerhard, James Buescher, Will Kimmell, Craig Goess and Tom Hessert rounding out the top 10.

Nine-time ARCA champion Frank Kimmel will start 24th in the No. 44 Ansell-Menards Ford.

“This sponsorship was what every race team dreams about,” Kimmel said. “It came about at the 12th hour. Now, we’ve got a sponsor for the whole season, and we can concentrate on the things we’re supposed to concentrate on. It’s going to be a great season.

Kimmel was outqualified by both his son, Will Kimmel, and the only other ARCA RE/MAX Series champion in the field. Bill Baird, the 1999 champ, was 18th fastest in the No. 52 Saturn Welding Chevrolet owned by Ken Schrader.

Also in the field is five-time Daytona Supercross By Honda winner Ricky Carmichael, who will start 23rd in the No. 33 Monster Energy Chevrolet. Carmichael will spend the season racing in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, driving for Kevin Harvick Inc.

Race Center

Kansas Lottery 98.9

@ Kansas Speedway
Friday, October 04, 2013


© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites