Mcdowell Wins Kentucky Pole

SPARTA, Ky. - Eddie Sharp Racing's Michael McDowell earned his second consecutive SIM Factory Pole Award and third of 2007 Saturday afternoon at Kentucky Speedway. McDowell, in the No. 2 Z Line-Make A Wish-Beck Dodge, circled the 1.5-mile Kentucky Speedway in 30.702 seconds (175.884 mph).

"The Eddie Sharp Racing Beck Dodge was really good this morning," said McDowell. "Unfortunately the practice results don't really show that just because we didn't get a chance to make a qualifying run. We unloaded good and that's what it takes at these events when you have a limited practice. I feel we have a really strong racecar. I didn't really think we had a car strong enough for the pole so I feel good for tonight." Starting Grid

Ken Butler III starts on the outside front row in his No. 22 ESR Development Team-NAPA Toyota. Saturday's Buckle-Up Kentucky 150 marks the Sherrills Ford, North Carolina driver's career first speedway start.

"That's awesome that I get to start on the front row," said Butler III. " We had a great car all day and I'm proud of the Napa Toyota team. I want to thank Michael Waltrip and Eddie Sharp for giving me this opportunity. I've never raced a mile-and-a-half before so I don't really know what to expect. We need good, clean pit stops and I think if we hold our track position we'll be a contender for the win."

Phillip McGilton, Bobby Santos III and Erik Darnell rounded out the top five.

Nick Tucker, in the No. 48 Dodge, spun in turn 4 during his warm up qualifying lap. Richard Johns, in the No. 39 Tool Ford, spun coming off of turn two during his qualifying run. Justin Marks, in the No. 65 Construct Corps Dodge, spun in turn four during his qualifying run. There were no injuries.

Race Center

Kansas Lottery 98.9

@ Kansas Speedway
Friday, October 04, 2013


© 2017 MRN. All Rights Reserved

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

ISC Track Sites