Kimmel Takes Toledo Pole

TOLEDO, Ohio -It had been since October, 2004 at Talladega Superspeedway since seven-time ARCA RE/MAX Series champion Frank Kimmel won a Pork Pole Award. But that all changed Saturday afternoon after Kimmel earned his 39th career Pork Pole at Toledo Speedway in preparation for Sunday afternoon's Hantz Group 200 presented by Federated Car Care. Kimmel qualified with an average speed of 106.876 mph.

“It feels really good to get a Pork pole, finally,” said Kimmel. “We have worked real hard to get to this point and it feels like it has taken awhile to finally get back on top of the charts in qualifying. There are a lot of fast race cars in the field today and to get to share the front row with Brian Keselowski means a lot too because he and I have always been like family. Hopefully starting out front will help us to another win.

"We are pretty good around Toledo and I would really like to get our tenth win here at Toledo tomorrow afternoon. This Pork pole award is also real special for our whole race team because one of our friends at the National Pork Board, Karen Boillet, tragically lost her husband this past week, Cliff Cambell. We want to dedicate this pole to his memory and send the family our deepest condolences.”

Rochester Hills, Michigan native Brian Keselowski, a former Late Model Champion at Toledo Speedway, will start on the outside pole with a fast time of 16.929seconds (106.327 mph).

Brent Sherman, making his return to the ARCA RE/MAX Series for the first time since 2004, qualified third with a time of 16.974 seconds (106.045 mph), while Clarkston, Michigan native Michael Simko qualified fourth.

Simko, a veteran short track racer, quickly left the Toledo Speedway grounds Saturday to make his way towards Michigan so that he could compete in a Late Model feature at Flat Rock Speedway.

Josh Richeson, filling in for NASCAR Nextel Cup driver Ken Schrader, qualified fifth. However, Schrader will start Sunday’s Hantz Group 200 last as a penalty for not qualifying the car himself.

Blake Bjorklund, Bobby Gerhart, Ryan Foster, Terry Jones and Brett Rowe rounded out the top-10 qualifiers.

Qualifying was delayed several times by drivers spinning cars during their qualifying runs. The longest delay occurred when Randy VanZant made contact with the turn four wall during his second qualifying lap.

Billy Venturini, Ashley Parlet, Jason Hedlesky, Damon Lusk and Billy Leslie experienced spins during qualifying as well.

There were no injuries.

The Hantz Group 200 presented by Federated Car Care is scheduled to roll off shortly after 2:00 PM Eastern time Sunday, May 21. The race is televised same-day on SPEED at 4:30 PM.

Race Center

Kansas Lottery 98.9

@ Kansas Speedway
Friday, October 04, 2013


  • © 2014 MRN. All Rights Reserved

    FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

    ISC Track Sites