2013 Supercross Schedule Announced


The 2013 Monster Energy Supercross Championship will challenge the world’s best riders with 17 races over the span of 18 weeks. (Photo: Hoppenworld.com)

Feld Motor Sports announced today the 2013 Monster Energy AMA Supercross schedule for the world’s premier indoor, off-road motorcycle racing circuit.

The championship will once again feature a 17-race season, visiting the country’s most recognizable stadiums in 10 different states, in addition to an international stop in Canada’s largest city, Toronto.

“The 2013 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, schedule will once again showcase what will arguably be the sport’s deepest field ever inside the world’s premier stadiums,” said Charlie Mancuso, President, Feld Motor Sports. “After reaching milestones in 2012, with sell-outs at the two races at Angel Stadium and the Georgia Dome, Monster Energy Supercross also posted record numbers at the Edward Jones Dome and the tour is on pace to garner the highest attendance figures in the sport’s history. This success clearly identifies that the growing popularity of the sport and will serve as a springboard for 2013. From returning veterans like Ryan Villopoto, Ryan Dungey, James Stewart and Chad Reed to Supercross Class rookie Justin Barcia, who will make his premier class debut, fans will be treated to an epic season to look forward to in 2013. Cross Club Members should take advantage of the May 7-8 exclusive on-sale date to ensure they have the best seats for this highly anticipated season.”

"In 2012, Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, has delivered competitive racing, several surprises and superlative highs, culminating with Ryan Villopoto's successful defense of his AMA No. 1 plate," said AMA President and CEO Rob Dingman. "We are looking forward to working with Feld Motor Sports to produce another brilliant year of racing, and the 2013 schedule is perfectly suited to showcase what has become the most fan-friendly stadium-based motorsport event in the world. For many amateur racers around the country, Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, represents the pinnacle of their professional dreams, and we're proud of our work with Feld Motor Sports to elevate this professional championship, as well as our support of the AMA-sanctioned amateur competition that will get them there."

"I had the pleasure of attending the Houston race of the 2012 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, and can easily understand why this championship keeps the many fans around the world thrilled," said FIM President Mr Vito Ippolito. "Monster Energy Supercross offers great entertainment and top sport to all its aficionados. Ryan Villopoto was the dominant rider this year and has secured the championship at an early stage this season. But it did not stop the fans from attending the remaining races. This says it all about the Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship. A total of 17 races are on next year's calendar that will start off again in Anaheim on January 5, 2013. Save the date!"

For the 22nd time in four decades of competition, Angel Stadium, in Anaheim, Calif., will serve as the site of the opening race of the 2013 Monster Energy Supercross season. The proverbial home of supercross will host two of the 17 races, on January 5 and February 2, signifying the first and fifth stops, respectively.

The most significant change for the 2013 Monster Energy Supercross season is the championship’s return to the legendary Metrodome in Minneapolis, ending a four-year hiatus from the venue. The home of the NFL’s Minnesota Vikings has been a staple of Monster Energy Supercross, and with the emergence Belle Plaine’s Ryan Dungey in recent years, will surely be one of the most popular stops on the schedule.

In total, the 2013 Monster Energy Supercross Championship will challenge the world’s best riders with 17 races over the span of 18 weeks. The schedule will run through all but one weekend in January, February, March, and April, before coming to a dramatic conclusion the first weekend in May inside Las Vegas’ Sam Boyd Stadium, where three champions will be crowned across the Supercross Class, Supercross Lites Western Regional Class, and Supercross Lites Eastern Regional Class.

In addition to the aforementioned stops, Monster Energy Supercross will make stops at familiar cities such as Phoenix (1/12), Los Angeles (1/19), Oakland (1/26), San Diego (2/9), Arlington (2/16), Atlanta (2/23), St. Louis (3/2), Indianapolis (3/16), Toronto (3/23), Houston (4/6), Seattle (4/20), and Salt Lake City (4/27).

Following his historic title run in 2012, back-to-back champion Ryan Villopoto will lead the field into action aboard his Monster Energy Kawasaki, fending off the likes of former champions Ryan Dungey, James Stewart, and Chad Reed, along with past race winners Kevin Windham, Trey Canard, Davi Millsaps, and more.

Date                                         Venue                                                  City

January 5                                  Angel Stadium                                      Anaheim, Calif.

January 12                                Chase Field                                           Phoenix

January 19                                Dodger Stadium                                    Los Angeles

January 26                                O.Co Coliseum                                      Oakland, Calif.

February 2                                Angel Stadium                                      Anaheim, Calif.

February 9                                Qualcomm Stadium                               San Diego

February 16                               Cowboys Stadium                                 Arlington, Texas

February 23                               Georgia Dome                                      Atlanta

March 2                                    Edward Jones Dome                             St. Louis

*March 9                                   Daytona International Speedway            Daytona Beach, Fla.

March 16                                   Lucas Oil Stadium                                 Indianapolis

March 23                                   Rogers Centre                                       Toronto

April 6                                       Reliant Stadium                                     Houston

April 13                                     Metrodome                                           Minneapolis

April 20                                     CenturyLink Field                                   Seattle

April 27                                     Rice-Eccles Stadium                             Salt Lake City

May 4                                       Sam Boyd Stadium                               Las Vegas

Related Topics:

AMA Supercross

  • © 2015 MRN. All Rights Reserved

    FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousLinkedInGoogle BookmarksYahoo BookmarksLive (MSN)

    ISC Track Sites